Gardening – primitive style #1

by seedspiral

I’ve set up my first garden this year.

In the wild.

The intention is to get acquainted with new plants and to see what kind of place will emerge.

I have made terraces out of sticks between old beech stumps. They were filled with horse shit and straw in different stages of decomposition, taken from the meadow down at the stream.

The policy is to use only local material and nutrients. No poison. Let the plants to their own devices mostly.

The snails do the weeding. The rain does the watering.

Moroccan Mint likes her new home a lot more than the old one indoors:

Pole Beans delight me with their growth and taste:

After all Tomato were killed by the brown plague, Tobacco and Pumpkin have dominated the patch. I like big annuals very much:

Potato turned out very beautiful in the horse shit:

Nasturtium surprises me with how late it is. It’s only now that it grows vigorously. No pictures because I ate all the flowers. I love their texture and taste.

I also have a beautiful dark purple Sunflower, that I shall show you next time.

Can you spot the Tomato seedlings? Or Rote Beete in the Gunderman? This is the place Borago and Tomato stole the show in late spring.